TOGAF Basic Concepts Cheat Sheet / FAQ

•What does the TOGAF standard contain?

The key to TOGAF is the method known as the ADM (Architecture Development Method).

The TOGAF standard has 7 sections:

  1. Part 1: The introduction: This details the TOGAF approach and defines the terms used throughout the standard.
  2. Part 2: The Architecture Development Method (ADM) – the step by step approach to developing an enterprise architecture.
  3. Part 3: Guidelines and techniques for use in the ADM
  4. Part 4: The Architecture Content Framework
  5. Part 5: Enterprise Continuum Tools – This part discusses taxonomies and tools to categorise and store the outputs of architecture activity within an enterprise.
  6. Part 6: The TOGAF Reference Models – There are two reference models – a) TOGAF Reference Model (TRF) and b) the Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model (III-RM)
  7. Part 7: The Architecture Capability Framework – This part describes the organisation, processes, skills, roles and responsibilities required to establish an architectural practice within an enterprise.

The diagram below produced by the Open Group shows how these sections interact with each other.

The ADM (Part 2) is the core. Part III then gives more detailed guidelines and techniques used by the ADM.

The ADM process produces content which needs to be stored in the Enterprise Architecture repository. The repository structure is documented in part 4, the ACF (Architecture Content Framework). This in turn classifies the content using the taxonomy from Part V, the Enterprise Continuum and Tools.  At the start of a project the content repository will initially be loaded with one of the reference models described in part VI, the TOGAF Reference Models.

The ACF (Part VII) describes how to set-up an architectural practice to operate the ADM.